DE EN FR RU

History

Philippe Schuler, raised in Egypt, attended primary school and the gymnasium in Switzerland. Shortly after completing his studies, the lawyer discovered during a traineeship that this field of activity did not appeal to him. Looking for a new occupation, he found his vocation at Edgar Mannheimers «UTO-Auctions», where he worked as an all-rounder from 1975 to 1977. After this, Philippe Schuler switched to Koller Tiefenbrunnen, where he learnt the profession of auctioneer from the bottom up. In 1979, Pierre Koller entrusted him with the task of setting up a branch in St.-Gallen, which he directed till it was closed down. Although the young man was jobless, he had gathered a wealth of experience.

Therefore Philippe Schuler decided in 1984 to realize the dream of having his own auction house. Together with two employees, he opened the «Philippe Schuler Versteigerungen AG» at Seestrasse 341 in Zürich-Wollishofen. The auctioneer has remained faithful to the business philosophy that he coined for himself at the time: «each item has its value and is worth being handled with care». The first auctions already showed that the widely varied range of goods offered by the young auction house met with much interest. Pieces of furniture, furnishings, arts and crafts and jewellery found buyers just as paintings, Helvetica and books.

The Zurich auction house, that soon deployed its activity in the whole German-speaking part of Switzerland, even extended its operations to the French-speaking part of Switzerland with a representative in Geneva. In addition, the expert days in Basle, Lucerne and in Ticino made it easier for potential sellers from these regions to consign their art objects and paintings. In the meantime, the Swiss auction market could no longer be imagined without Schuler Auctions and its wide range of services. It owes its good name to the untiring entrepreneurial spirit of Philippe Schuler, to 25 competent experts and, as the highest reward, to the word-of-mouth propaganda of satisfied customers.

Further details on the history of the auction house as well as a selection of interesting highlights on all the subject areas covered by Schuler Auctions can be found in our 25th anniversary publication issued in November 2009.

DE EN FR RU

Geschichte

Philippe Schuler – in Ägypten aufgewachsen – besucht Grundschule und Gymnasium in der Schweiz. Bald nach Abschluss seines Studiums merkt der Jurist während eines Praktikums, dass ihm dieses Arbeitsfeld nicht zusagt. Daher sieht er sich nach einer neuen Tätigkeit um. Seine Berufung findet er bei Edgar Mannheimers «Uto-Auktionen», wo er von 1975 bis 1977 als Allrounder beschäftigt ist. Danach wechselt Philippe Schuler zu Koller-Tiefenbrunnen und erlernt dort den Beruf des Auktionators von der Pike auf. 1979 wird er von Pierre Koller mit dem Aufbau einer Filiale in St. Gallen betraut, die er bis zu deren Schliessung führt. Der junge Mann steht nun zwar ohne Stelle, aber mit einem grossen Erfahrungsschatz da.

Deshalb beschliesst Philippe Schuler 1984, den Traum vom eigenen Auktionshaus zu verwirklichen. Zusammen mit zwei Mitarbeiterinnen eröffnet er an der Seestrasse 341 in Zürich-Wollishofen die «Philippe Schuler Versteigerungen AG». Seiner Geschäftsphilosophie, die er damals für sich prägt, ist der Auktionator bis heute treu geblieben: «Jedes Stück hat seinen Wert und ist es wert, mit Sorgfalt behandelt zu werden». Bereits die ersten Auktionen zeigen, dass die breit gefächerte Offerte des jungen Auktionshauses auf grosses Interesse stösst. Möbel, Einrichtungsgegenstände, Kunstgewerbe und Schmuck finden ebenso Käufer wie Gemälde, Helvetica und Bücher.

Das Zürcher Haus, das bald in der ganzen Deutschschweiz agiert, dehnt mit einer Représentante in Genf seine Tätigkeit auch in die Westschweiz aus. Zudem erleichtern Expertentage in Basel, Luzern und im Tessin Verkaufswilligen aus diesen Regionen die Einlieferung ihrer Kunstgegenstände und Bilder. Mittlerweile ist das Haus mit seinem umfassenden Dienstleistungsangebot nicht mehr aus der Schweizer Auktionslandschaft wegzudenken. Seinen guten Ruf verdankt Schuler Auktionen dem unermüdlichen Unternehmer-Geist Philippe Schulers, den 25 kompetenten Sachverständigen sowie – und das ist wohl der schönste Lohn – der Mund-zu-Mund-Propaganda zufriedener Kundinnen und Kunden.

Ausführliche Angaben zur Firmengeschichte sowie eine Auswahl an interessanten Highlights aller von Schuler Auktionen betreuten Sachgebiete finden Sie in unserer Jubiläumsschrift, die im November 2009 erschienen ist.